See me @ Supanova – Melbourne, 17 April 2016

supanova-logoI’ll be appearing at Supanova Pop Culture Expo being held in Melbourne (Australia) on Sunday, 17 April, 2016, as part of the Popular Arts Researchers Australia (PARA) panel on popular culture and Australian fandom.

I’ll be talking about The Phantom (of course), and look at the reasons why “The Ghost Who Walks” continues to be popular with Australian “phans”, 80 years after his debut in The Australian Woman’s Mirror magazine, back in September 1936.

I’ll be joined on-stage by Angela Ndalianis (University of Melbourne), and Jason Bainbridge (Swinburne University), who’ll be sharing insights from their research into superhero fandom and the role of super-villains in the superhero genre.

Our session, titled “Phans, Fans, and Supervillains”, will be held on-stage at the Imagineers’ Playground at the Supanova Pop Culture Expo, from 3.10pm-4.00pm, Sunday, 17 April, 2016. For further details, visit: http://www.supanova.com.au/activities/imagineers-playground/

One thought on “See me @ Supanova – Melbourne, 17 April 2016

  1. Kevin,
    Hi. Andrew Nette here. I Hope you are doing well
    I am currently reading a book Toni Johnson Woods helped edit which has an essay from you on the history of the comic book in Australia. It made me realise that perhaps I had not got back to you regarding the e-mail you send me suggesting some potential supervisors. Profuse apologies if that is the case. I just sent an e-mail to the Monash account I had for you but it bounced. Then I found this site with your rather fascinating sounding project. It would be great to meet up for a coffee some time. Among other things, it would be great to pick your brains about PhD studies. If you are interested, you can drop me a line at the same e-mail as used in our previous correspondence.
    Cheers,
    Andrew

Leave a Reply

